WTF entertainment? Weblog
Reviews, opinions and sometimes news about various forms of entertainment

THE DEATH OF MAGAZINES…?

With the Internet slowly taking over as the media delivery channel for everything; is there still room for magazines? You certainly can make that case if you go into a bookstore. The magazine racks are shrinking. The same diversity is represented in what is displayed. (And in some stores it has actually increased.) However, the sections have been condensed considerably. Titles are just dying off.

This makes sense when talking about entertainment or computer-related issues. (Things change daily and there are plenty of hungry consumers out there waiting for something on them. Not to mention the need for daily content in order to keep web rankings and readers returning.) However, there are certain niche markets that don’t necessarily appeal to consumers or hobbyists that are willing to spend that much time web-surfing.

There is also a trend to super-size some publications so that they are practically more-frequently-published books. (I just bought a copy of the latest Communication Arts and while if was thickly packed with beautiful glossy photos, illustrations, and designs, it ran $24.95.) Is this a trend to explore?

With most magazines having a web presence is there an actual need to have the physical publication itself? I’m still a bit old-school and while there’s plenty of hard drive space devoted to ebooks, comic reader files, and PDFs of articles/magazines, there’s still some things that cry out to be held in a hand and looked over in leisure. (It’s a convenience/comfort issue and well as the quality of fine printing vs. monitor resolution.)

Will this reluctance to part with the physical and totally embrace the digital eventually die out? (Along with my generation and the one immediately following it.) Or is there some sort of compromise?

2 Responses to “THE DEATH OF MAGAZINES…?”

  1. books and magazines still touch lives. I can’t say that it’s dying despite of the fact that digtal magazines are dominating the net. However, I can just see this reality to some established magazine companies. And if one would have interest in venturing into this business today, I would advice that they should think twice.

  2. I would have to say, I still like a tangible object when it comes to digital media and the like. I used to really embrace magazines and the printed media from back in the days when I collected comic books. The sleek, beautifully pictured pages enthralled me as I feasted my ocular senses on the novelty of visual treats. The fact of the matter is there is very little room to store and keep up with printed material. The digital age ushers in practicality along with technology, reducing the physical space needed to archive such a coveted medium.

    I love the idea of looking at PDFs of my favorite comic books. However, I have to mention that not all PDFs are created the same in that everyone doesn’t seem to scan the source material with the same amount of care and meticulousness. But, all in all, I believe this generation welcomes novel ideas to advance the facilitation of our most prized pastimes and eccentric hobbies.

    I still don’t believe that digital media will COMPLETELY replace printed and manufactured items obviating a need for tangibility in a world that is becoming more and more ephemeral, virtual. I, for one, will not entirely eschew discs in favor of digital downloaded movies and music for the simple fact that I like handling a solid, physical object that appeals to more than 2 of my senses and provides a strange sense of satiety for some reason or another.


Leave a Reply

