WTF entertainment? Weblog
Reviews, opinions and sometimes news about various forms of entertainment

BEST ACTION SCENE EVER…!

Action GIF

I actually find this better than the majority of Hollywood action. Let me know what your favorite action scene is, from any film, any country.

6 Responses to “BEST ACTION SCENE EVER…!”

  1. First to come to mind are the bank shootout in Heat and the hospital gunfight in Hard Boiled. I’m sure 20 more will pop in my head as soon as I hit “submit”.

  2. Brad, just in case you didn’t know, this is Aaron.

    Anyway, my favorite action scenes seem to come from the Matrix Trilogy as that’s the only thing that comes to mind right now. I could site the locker room shoot out in the 1st movie, Trinity’s falling shootout in the 2nd one (actually there’s so many in the 2nd film, I won’t remember them all), and the Super Burly Brawl at the end of the 3rd film. The Wachoski’s may have not nailed the script as being the best story, as far as tying all the loose ends up, but they sure as hell have some of the best action scenes I’ve seen in any movie.

  3. I can certainly see the Wachowski’s gigantic footprint on action films. I thought they would meet the potential I saw in them when I first viewed BOUND.

    I guess there’s something to be said about the difference fight choreography and editing play in a scene. I’ve watched films where the editing carried a scene and others where the choreography did. It’s the difference in, say BOND films or the Lester version of THE THREE MUSKATEERS and a Jackie Chan or Tony Jaa film. Of course a lot of that also depends on what kind of shape the star is in and if they can carry an extended take.

  4. By the way, that is a cool flash movie! I used to draw flip cartoons like that on a pad of paper all the time as a kid! It actually reminds me of one or two of them specifically!

  5. The fight in the park in Germany in the Bourne Identity… Exactly how a trained killer would fight. In fact, most of the fights in that film!

    Number 2 for me would be the epic bone breaking fight in Tom Yum Goong after Tony Jaa gets stabbed and things turn sour 🙂

    Bruce Lee deserves a look-in in any top list of screen fights too. As well as The Wing Chun fights in the Prodigal Son. Legendary!

    As for gunfights and bullet ballet, number one would have to be the shoot out in the church at the end of The Killer by Woo

  6. The street shoot out in HEAT (1995)


Leave a Reply

